My Adventures in Researching for Writing


What can a writer do to confirm a theory he/she has written about? Here’s what I did:

For the first book in the detective adventure series that I’m writing, I had a situation where the protagonist, Sandy, is tied with his hands behind his back. For that scene, I needed him to free himself. But as many of you would agree, and I realized, it’s a difficult situation to get out of…

So, in order to find a way, for the sake of my protagonist, I decided to try it myself. I put myself in a similar situation and tried to get out of the bonds. But no matter how much I tried, this way or the other, I couldn’t do it! 😦 I was disheartened. Pensive. I needed Sandy to free himself without anybody’s help, and my ‘practical’ hadn’t worked… Sadly enough, I was left with no other option but to change the scene (you see, though I’m writing detective fiction, my characters are not super-humans or humans with superpowers… they have to come across as the regular Joe’s we see and meet everyday).

But then I remembered that Sandy is a trained gymnast! This was a ray of hope, and I set out in search of a person who is a gymnast-in-making. I wanted to see if such a person could achieve this difficult feat.

And one day, there comes my cousin sister’s daughter bounding up the stairs like a butterfly. She is training to be a gymnast and has recently been selected for Nationals! So, I put my predicament in front of my cousin sister. And God, was that an awkward moment! Luckily, my sister readily agreed to try it on her daughter, and bingo! She did it!! She actually could do what I’d written Sandy would do to free himself! I couldn’t believe that the theory I’d written about, the theory I was desperately trying to confirm for the past many weeks, was right after all. Whew! (mopping my brow)

I must say that just like reading, writing has its thrills! 😀

About mau5779

I have 8 years experience working with big companies as well as smaller ones. The bigger companies gave me exposure of quality and best practices whereas, the smaller companies gave me the skill of handling contingencies & formulating business strategies. I have experience in marketing, Customer Relationship Management, customer service, employee engagement, operations, service delivery, vendor management, knowledge management, handling conflicts, recruitment, MIS & Reporting, budgeting, Kaizen, ISMS/ITIL, Six Sigma & Incident/Change management. I have undergone the Leadership Development training three times and have handled On the Job Trainings, Rewards & Recognition & Recreation and Event Management. I have experience working with people from various countries in the continents of US (USA & Canada), Europe (UK, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Spain, France), Asia (China, Korea, Philippines, Japan, including India) and Australia. After these 8 years of job, I decided getting into business and started a Call Center in Pune. I also help other businesses enhance their profits.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Research, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

