Meet Me, Rupali Rotti


Hi, I’m Rupali Rotti and I’m a writer. Wait, what? Yeah, you read it right – roti, the Indian bread, with an extra ‘t’. Have you ever heard of a person with a surname as ‘bread’? I think not. So that makes me pretty unique, huh? And this isn’t even my birth name. You see, I’m married to a guy with that name. My surname before marriage was Rajopadhye. Uh… Ra-joe-paa-dh-ye, Rajopadhye. Ugh, alright, say whatever you wanna say. Not a single friend of mine could ever pronounce my surname right, so why should you?

Anyway, when I was to get married and this guy came along, my friends and family said, “You gonna marry a guy with that name? Dekho huh, you’ll be stuck with it the rest of your life. People would make fun of you, call you names, laugh at you. You’ll be okay with that?”

And I would go, “Umm…” Then I thought, ‘What’s in the name? Forget about the name, look at the guy.’ I mean, he was perfect. He was the guy I’d been waiting for, for so many years.

My cousins teased me day and night before marriage. You see, my name’s Rupali and with this new surname, I would be Rupali Rotti, which sounded pretty much like Roomali Roti… see what I mean? (For those who don’t know, it’s a variety of Indian bread you get all across India!)

Also, in India, there’s a saying: A person requires three things to survive – roti (bread), kapda (clothing), aur makaan (and shelter). So my friends and cousins teased me saying that since I’m considering becoming ‘Roti’, if and when I’ve kids, I should name them Kapda and Makaan. That way, I’ll have all the basic necessities to survive all through my life (rolling my eyes). Apparently I don’t need a job to survive. Duh!

So I either could get bogged down and reject the guy for his surname, or I could tell the world to FO and marry the man of my dreams. You know what I did next. 😀 But, come to think of it, every person strives to have bread on the table – job/business/begging – all of it for a loaf of bread. This means, the whole world is working for me. Now that’s not so bad, is it?

Tell me about your names and surnames that draw unnecessary attention to you. You like that attention, you don’t like it? People make fun of you? You make fun of people for their names or surnames? Share your story in a comment below. If you liked the post, don’t forget to subscribe to my Facebook page, Nayak Brothers, and don’t forget to read my books, they’re niiiccceee.

When I say ‘Roti in jam’ or ‘Roti in a pickle’… Ah, I caught that! Now look here, it’s not yummy, you cannot enjoy it. It’s me in trouble, for God’s sake! Come, help me! Aw great, now your mouth can’t stop watering.

This Post was originally written for b00kr3vi3ws here.

About mau5779

I have 8 years experience working with big companies as well as smaller ones. The bigger companies gave me exposure of quality and best practices whereas, the smaller companies gave me the skill of handling contingencies & formulating business strategies. I have experience in marketing, Customer Relationship Management, customer service, employee engagement, operations, service delivery, vendor management, knowledge management, handling conflicts, recruitment, MIS & Reporting, budgeting, Kaizen, ISMS/ITIL, Six Sigma & Incident/Change management. I have undergone the Leadership Development training three times and have handled On the Job Trainings, Rewards & Recognition & Recreation and Event Management. I have experience working with people from various countries in the continents of US (USA & Canada), Europe (UK, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Spain, France), Asia (China, Korea, Philippines, Japan, including India) and Australia. After these 8 years of job, I decided getting into business and started a Call Center in Pune. I also help other businesses enhance their profits.
This entry was posted in Author Interivew, comedy, India & Indians, Literary Fiction, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

