We decided to have a baby and it all came crashing down


I had been quite ambitious all my life. I rose up the corporate ladder fast; became ITIL certified, Six Sigma certified, Kaizen champion and underwent 3 leadership development programs before I got married at the age of 28. Then I started my own company and became a CEO at the age of 30. There seemed nothing that could stop me. I was sincere at my effort and wasn’t afraid of taking risks and trying new things whenever I felt like it (I’ve worked in 3 industries – BPO, IT and Manufacturing – over a period of 9 years). I firmly believed that since I could live my life at my own terms, everybody could do so, only if they made a sincere attempt.

Then, we decided to have a baby.

Journey to Conceive

All my life I’ve hated hospitals, stayed away from doctors and never took any medicines; luckily, I had quite a healthy body and never fell sick. I had not experienced pain till the age of 27 or 28 and had had fever only 3 times till then. However, when we decided to grow our family, we went to see a doctor.

The first doctor had 2 or 3 apartments in a building and ran her clinic in the ground floor apartment while she lived on the 1st floor. Since her clinic and house were practically in the same building, she would take long breaks for family matters, guests’ visits, meal preparation, and other things. Even while in the clinic, some or the other of her family member would always be there with her, talking. Being polite, I wouldn’t want to interrupt their conversation, so there was no chance for me to ask any questions.

For some reason, she didn’t conduct any tests on either me or my husband and would simply give us some medicines without telling us what they were for. Most of the time only I would get the medicines (like punishment) and my husband would go scot free. Once she gave me Iron and some other supplements. Iron made me constipated, so I googled all the medicines she gave me and looked for their side-effects online. Next time when I went to her, I told her what I was experiencing (the symptoms) but she never uttered a word about what was causing it. Finally, I confronted her but she didn’t even acknowledge my confrontation, being busy talking with a relative, planning a function party. She didn’t respond to my complaints, so I took a decision myself and stopped taking the iron supplement. I googled natural sources of iron and started eating everything that had Iron in it. I also started going out in the sun more for better absorption of iron from my food.

The only good thing I found at this first doctor’s clinic was the food regimen to follow during pregnancy. It seemed like a good diet (even when you aren’t pregnant) that provided all the vitamins and minerals and other nutrients in a balanced way. I started following it, with lesser quantities/helpings, of course. However, 1 to 1.5 years passed and there was no result. I didn’t conceive. So, it was time to move on.

To be continued…

About mau5779

I have 8 years experience working with big companies as well as smaller ones. The bigger companies gave me exposure of quality and best practices whereas, the smaller companies gave me the skill of handling contingencies & formulating business strategies. I have experience in marketing, Customer Relationship Management, customer service, employee engagement, operations, service delivery, vendor management, knowledge management, handling conflicts, recruitment, MIS & Reporting, budgeting, Kaizen, ISMS/ITIL, Six Sigma & Incident/Change management. I have undergone the Leadership Development training three times and have handled On the Job Trainings, Rewards & Recognition & Recreation and Event Management. I have experience working with people from various countries in the continents of US (USA & Canada), Europe (UK, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Spain, France), Asia (China, Korea, Philippines, Japan, including India) and Australia. After these 8 years of job, I decided getting into business and started a Call Center in Pune. I also help other businesses enhance their profits.
This entry was posted in Childbirth, Dealing with Failure, Help, Hope, India & Indians, Infertility, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

